Skip to content

Electrolytes for Your Skin

June 1, 2011

After joining Travis and Harper on their morning run today I realized that I need to make the change to morning workouts. Yesterday was brutally hot and humid and I can feel it’s only going to get worse!

The run was cooler, obviously since the sun wasn’t quite out yet, but we added sprints and backwards running up hill. It was really tough since my legs were still achy from the walking lunges yesterday on a steep incline. I felt good after and need to workout in the mornings more. I’m not a morning person, but it’s getting too hot and in Atlanta, once it gets hot it stays hot for about 5 more months!

Once we got home and I was out the door with coffee and water bottle in hand but didn’t have any electrolytes! I’m really good about drinking water. I go through 60 ounces a day, but I need to make sure to add electrolytes. It’s not just good for my body, but for my skin too!

http://cooktraineatrace.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/images-9.jpeg

Electrolytes are GOOD!

When we sweat, we lose water and minerals like sodium, potassium, chloride, calcium, magnesium, sulfate, and phosphate. Without the proper balance of electrolytes, our body can’t properly absorb and utilize the water we have in our system. This balance is really important for our skin.
 
When our skin is hydrated the cells are plump and look soft and smooth. Dehydration flattens the cells and can lead to skin sagging and premature aging. That is not what we want!
 
Drinking tons of fresh, clean water throughout the day is a great idea but if you don’t have the right balance of electrolytes you aren’t doing your skin or body any favors.
 
The least expensive way I’ve found to add electrolytes is by adding a tiny amount of salt to lemon water. I don’t use enough to taste but that seems to do the trick. Also for non sports drink options GREEN Super Food, Smartwater, and Emergen-C.
 
*this information is my opinion and not medical advice
8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 10:22 pm

    I like your trick with the salt and lemon water – thanks for sharing! In the mornings (when I have time), I drink hot water with lemon juice and a little honey. I personally think this is a very important topic.

    • June 2, 2011 9:31 am

      I love hot water with lemon and honey! I drink that when I feel blah and it really works!

  2. June 2, 2011 6:36 am

    I have to run in the morning otherwise it will not happen. The heat is crazy!

  3. June 2, 2011 12:24 pm

    I know I never regret morning workouts, especially in the summer!
    Gotta love them electrolytes!

  4. June 2, 2011 4:52 pm

    It’s not hot in SF in the summer (boo!! I miss heat!), so I have to remind myself to drink enough water! And this post is a great reminder, thanks girl 🙂

    • June 2, 2011 6:16 pm

      I so want to go to SF! That’s on my list of places to visit.

Trackbacks

  1. Sabotaging Results « Girly Ever After

Leave a comment