Skip to content

NC Bound

June 9, 2011

Travis and I had to make a last-minute trip up to NC after work on Wednesday and didn’t get in until after midnight. It was a very restless night and Harper was up all night pacing the bedroom so I had maybe 4 full hours of sleep.

Luckily my parents had fresh fruit, cottage cheese, and some granola so my breakfast was the best thing ever. This and a couple of cups of coffee helped me feel human again. I’m not a morning person and need my 7 hours so I was super grateful.

Breakfast

After breakfast  Travis had to work for a few hours so my brother and I took Harper and my parents dog, Zoe to my grandmother’s farm. After a long car ride and pacing all night Harper still hadn’t slept so I knew the best way to wear her out was a field where she could run and do whatever she wanted.

Maw Maw's farm

This place holds so many of my childhood memories. I used to love coming to my Maw Maw’s house when I was a kid. The best thing about it was that every Spring her cat would have a new litter of kittens. As a little girl that was the BEST!

Since she passed a few years ago it really makes me appreciate the memories even more when I go back to visit.

Will and Zoe

My cousin lives on the land now and has cows that keep the barn and pasture in use. The unfortunate thing that occurs when you reminisce too long about childhood memories and don’t pay attention…Zoe finds the manure.

Rolling in cow shi__!

You can see the smile on her face!

I laughed so hard it hurt. I’m not sure if I was laughing at the act of her rolling in cow crap or the fact that my brother was freaking out that she had to ride in the back of his car back to my parents. Either way it was the funniest thing ever and totally made my week!

Post crap roll

I don’t think I’ll ever understand why dogs feel the need to roll in the nastiest things. GROSS!

Luckily we were able to hose Zoe off and get her all washed off before we headed back to my parents house. That would have been a shitty car ride, haha get it? Silly pup!

Chasing a squirrel

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 10:48 am

    It looks like a very peaceful place! I think animals can provide some of the best entertainment. They are so cute and innocent and I can spend hours watching animals play. 🙂

Leave a comment