Skip to content

Perfect Post Run Dinner

June 10, 2011

After a long car ride from NC to ATL Travis and I knew the best way to stretch our legs was with a run!

Usually running after sitting in a car for 5 hours doesn’t appeal to me in the least. Especially since I have to unpack(I don’t like letting my suitcase sit for days) and get ready for class tomorrow. But since I haven’t exercised in two days and ate ice cream( I don’t regret it at all) two days in a row I knew it was a good idea.

Our 4 mile run was at a humid 95° but was so worth it. We both needed a good run and Harper needed some exercise after napping in the car.

So tired after her run

Since it was late when we finished our workout we both wanted something light.

Post Run Dinner

Turkey, black bean hummus, melted pepperjack cheese on a flour tortilla with cucumber slices, carrots and green pepper. Perfect post run dinner.

Travis made his mom’s hummus recipe a few days ago and it’s the perfect staple to keep in the fridge. I used it on the tortilla for some added protein with the turkey and it was delicious. The creaminess of the chick peas really made it for me!

Not only is it super easy to make, but it’s cheaper than buying at the store without the extra sodium. Sometimes we modify the recipe by adding different beans but either way it’s super good. On a sandwich, salad, used as a dip I highly recommend trying it for yourself.

Black Bean Hummus(adapted from Travis’ mom)

  • 2 cans drained black beans(this recipe we used 1 can chick peas and 1 can black beans)
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp tamari
  • 2 tbsp warm water
Add all ingredients to food processor and enjoy! See told you it was easy;)
No comments yet

Leave a comment